That's a Wrap…

The first semester at Tsinghua University’s Academic Bridge Program came to a close last week with final exams and lots of grading.  Despite long to do lists, students and teachers were excited to be finishing up with work and having nearly a month off.  I am too.

To celebrate, I would like to share some additional memories of fall (and winter) 2009 at ABP:

In my writing class, I had students do a short origami project.  The question posed to them was, how is academic writing like doing origami?  You would be surprised how many possible answers there are.

In my writing class, I had students do a short origami project. As they worked, they contemplated how writing is like doing origami? They were skeptical at first but actually found a lot of similarities.

Perhaps my favorite lesson plan of the semester was teaching strong paragraph structure using Oreos ("Ao Li Ao" in Chinese).  I referred to this structure all the time through the term.  And it really worked well because every student know thinks of paragraphs when they look at Oreos.

Perhaps my favorite lesson plan of the semester was teaching strong paragraph structure using Oreos ("Ao Li Ao" in Chinese). Students appreciated the analogy and enjoyed the treat.

Another fun lesson was when I cut well-organized paragraphs into seperate sentences, and the students had to work together as a class to reconstruct them.

Another fun lesson on paragraphs. I cut several well-organized paragraphs into seperate sentences and gave one to each student. The students had to work together to reconstruct the paragraphs.

After our last class in January, a group of girls asked to take a picture with me.  I like this shot because it shows how cold it has been in the classrooms since December.  Everyone wears coats and lots of layers.

After our last class, a group of girls asked to take a picture with me. I like this shot because it shows how cold it has been in the classrooms since December. Everyone wears coats and lots of layers.

Next semester, I will be teaching two subjects – Critical Thinking and English for Academic Purposes (combination of writing, reading, listening, speaking).  I will teach each subject to two classes of students.  Each of the four classes will have five hours per week with me.  Unfortunately, unlike this past semester, I won’t have Monday to work from home and prepare. 

Because ABP’s next semester starts at the end of February, we have about a month off.  For three of those weeks, I will be doing some part time work as a tutor and as a teacher in a winter camp called “New Oriental – Elite.”  For one of those weeks, Tian’s parents will be joining us in Beijing to celebrate the Chinese New Year.  I’ll keep you posted on all of these adventures.

One comment

  1. lucky students to have such creative lessons from you!!!!

