Happy New Decade

Tian and I brought in the New Year and the New Decade together at “The Park Restaurant”, where our friend Chris plays in a band on Thursday nights.  We met a group of people there and had a nice time socializing over a late dinner and drinks.  Then the music started, and we hit the small dance floor. 

The opening band was small but fun.  I was pretty proud of the fact that I could understand one of their songs.  Also, after the show I went up to them and held a pretty good conversation, even despite the noise.  Progress…

The opening band.  I was pretty proud that I could understand one of the songs.  After they finished, I held a decent conversation with them.  Tian was proud of me.

The opening band.

At midnight, we took a short break and counted in the New Year and a New Decade!  A half hour later, the party had pretty much disipated, and we took a taxi home.  Both Tian and I were disappointed that we could not take the subway.  The subway closes at 11 p.m. even on New Years Eve.  Perhaps the taxi lobby is a powerful one here. 

The week of New Years, Tian and I also opened some Christmas gifts that my family had sent to us.  We had a lot of fun.  Thank you!

Santa outsourced some delivery to the US Post Office this year.  We loved the presents!

Santa outsourced some delivery to the US Post Office this year. We loved the presents!

