Zěn Me Shuō "Will You Marry Me?"

There is some exciting news to report from China.  And no, I’m not just talking about the grand opening of the first-ever haunted house in mainland China, though that definitely looks cool too. 

On Friday evening, I proposed to Tian, and fortunately (crazily?) she accepted.  So we’re now engaged to be married.  We are both really happy and are looking forward to spending our lives together.  We wanted those of you who follow my blog to be among the first to know!

Just a fun picture we found when looking through clip art.  Ok.  So maybe we're a little sappy right now too.  Can you blame us?

Just a fun picture we found when looking through clip art. Ok. So maybe we're a little sappy right now. Can you blame us?

As you probably guessed, I used my best Chinese to pop the question (emphasis on the “my”).  I deliberately had not asked other people for help because I wanted it to come from me at my current skill level.  I also did not want other people to know my intentions.  So literally, I asked “Will you become my wife?” (你变我的妻子吗?) rather than the more conventional “Are you willing to marry me?” (你愿意嫁给我吗?).  But it turned out to be close enough (and being on my knee certainly gave a helpful context clue), and she said yes without hesitation. 

So if you are keeping score, it was a double victory.  I not only gained a wonderful fiancée but some new vocabulary as well. It was indeed a special moment! 

This is just the initial announcement.  I plan to write another entry soon with the story of how the full proposal went down.  It’s a fun one to tell.

13 comments

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Congratulations to the two of you. Nikki and I are very happy for you.

  3. awesome, so happy for both of you!!!! double blessings for you!

  4. CONGRATS, you two! This is such happy news. Please give us the proposal details soon!

  5. Jennifer Sunshine · ·

    Congratulations!! What happy news!

  6. Wahooooooooooo!!! Congrats!! Looking forward to hearing the full story!

  7. CONGRATS! It’s been entertaining following your blog, but this was an exceptionally fun one to read!

  8. Sarah Gough · ·

    Congratulations Jeff and Tian!!! I secretly hoped from the first time I met Tian that she would someday be your wife. I always thought you two fit so well. So happy for you!

    We’ll see you at the wedding 🙂

  9. Felicitaciones!

  10. Kari Kunze · ·

    Wow! Exciting news! Congratulations to both of you!!!

  11. Abigail (Kline) Duffine · ·

    CONGRATULATIONS!

  12. Dude, congrats…guess that leaves Viet and me….haha! Keep up the good work on your Mandarin!

  13. Congratulations Jeff and Tian.

