Barely Legal: Follow Up

One week after I applied for the Residency Permit, I was supposed to go back to the same building and office to pay and pick up all my documents.  Unfortunately, I was sick that afternoon.  It really annoyed me because this was the one last task I needed to complete.  Fortunately, Tian (always there for me!) was able to take off from work to run the errand for me.  She brought the 400 RMB, made the two hours subway ride, and waited in line.  Then she even went back to the neighborhood police office and re-registered for me.  I was touched. 

I know that both she and I were relieved when we had everything in our hand and I was officially legal to spend the next year in China.  Now all that remains is making copies of the documents for my school and turning them back into HR.  Knock on wood.

This concludes (hopefully) the “Barely Legal” series on all the legal steps I took to spend this year in China.  I’m sorry if it seemed to drag on for you readers.  At times it did for us too.  Overall though, now that we are through it, I can see that the experience taught me a lot.  Not only did I learn about navigating Chinese systems, it also gave me a true sense of the challenges faced by immigrants navigating bureaucracy in all countries.

