Step 1: Renew US Passport

While I understand that some of you may be confused, step 1 was not to cut a hole in the box.  It was to get my US passport renewed.

I still remember when my dad took me to get my first passport when I turned 18.  I needed it before going to France the summer after I graduated from high school.  When I found out it would last 10 years, I was frustrated with what I had chosen to wear for the picture.  I also remember thinking then how long 10 years seemed to be and wondering if I would even need to renew it again anyways.

At the beginning of the decade, I thought I may not need to renew my passport.  I also thought that dressing in black and sticking pictures of baby chickens all over my body would in fact make me a chick magnet.  I had a lot left to learn about women and world travel.

At the beginning of the decade, I thought I may not need to renew my passport. I also thought that dressing in black and sticking pictures of baby chickens all over my body would in fact make me a chick magnet. I had a lot left to learn about women and world travel.

Well it turns out that 10 years have flown by, and the timing was such that I would definitely need a new passport by 2010.  So just to be safe and to avoid some extra headaches, I thought ahead and renewed early in January 2009.  Given some of the hangups later on down the line, this definitely was a good decision.

The US Passport Renewal process was one of the clearest and easiest to complete.  In January I prepared and mailed the following to the US government:

  1. Basic application form
  2. Two passport photos (Walgreens stop #1)
  3. $75 application fee

The only additional cost was securely mailing everything to them so as to not lose my existing passport to a mail accident.  I received my new passport back six weeks later!

