I Saw the Sign (#1)

While in China, I’ve entertained myself by making some fun random connections to American pop culture.  One of the most amusing has been the fact that a number of Ace of Base song lyrics can be applied to Chinese life, at least if separated from their original contexts. 

Wondering what I mean?  Well here are two examples: 

  1. “All that she wants is another baby” speaks perfectly to the feelings many young women have about China’s one-child policy.
  2. “Never gonna say I’m sorry” is spot on for describing people’s attitude toward others on public transportation.

That’s why it was no surprise that, as I was searching for the best title for this blog entry, an Ace of Base lyric immediately resonated.  This post, entitled “I Saw the Sign,” is likely to be the first of many in an ongoing series that will pay tribute to the countless Chinese signs with hilarious English translations.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

If this is a correct translation, the Chinese are so much better at saying "Keep Off" than we are.

If this is a correct translation, the Chinese are so much better at saying "Keep Off" than we are.

It looks like people didn't obey this sign.  How hardhearted of them.  Wait, are those Tian's feet?

It looks like people didn't obey this sign. How hardhearted of them. Wait, are those Tian's feet?

Note:  Let it be said that the Chinese earn huge points in my book for even translating major signs into English.  Would we do the same for them?  And if we did, would our signs be just as humorous to them?

2 comments

  1. I love that you refer to Ace of Base here. Miss you!

  2. […] my past posts on translated English signs in China, I’m going take partial credit for giving them the lead.  […]

