Da Du Zi (Big Stomach)

Summer is hot in Beijing, especially when the sun is out.  There are times when you really would do anything to get cooler.  Well in the last two weeks, some (I wouldn’t say a lot) of the locals here have given me at least one idea.  I’m not sure if I’m ready to try it yet though.  Read on and let me know what you think.

Basically, the idea is to cool off your tummy, regardless of its size and appearance, by airing it out.  Take the bottom half of your shirt and fasten it above your gut in whatever way you can (e.g. rolling it, sticking it to your sweat, tying a knot).  If you’re lazy just hold it.  Don’t worry about your form; this technique is entirely about function.

On a hot day, just roll up your shirt and air out your belly.

On a hot day, just roll up your shirt and air out your belly.

Yeah, I know.  I'm not sure I'd want to walk next to him either.

Yeah, I know. I'm not sure I'd want to walk next to him either.

At least this guy's got nice abs.

At least this guy's got nice abs.

Not surprisingly, this idea seems to have originated with men.  Women don’t do it.  One could conclude that perhaps women don’t get as hot.  Or perhaps it’s not as practical for their attire/bodies.  Most likely, they have just a little bit more sense of fashion.

At any rate, I’m glad this is a Chinese rather than American fashion technique (thinking about middle-aged American men doing this at the state fair isn’t pretty). 

After thinking it over, I’m just not compelled to try yet.  Good thing fall is just around the corner.

One comment

  1. Sue Williams · ·

    Hi Jiefu
    Would this post be going in the new catagory of Chinese Man? – – Ha ha
    How hot is hot there?? Is it humid?
    I have been enjoying reading your Cribs Bejiing section. Very interesting.
    Your Mom & Dad, Mike & Tim, Patrick Ochs, Mary & Steve & the Williams went to Canterbury last Friday the 25th. It was the last night for a very nice night of horseracing. We had a great time – the boys especially – looking at horses,making your Dad bet for them a few times & watching the races & yelling for their horses to win. Food & beer are cheap this night also – good draw. Oh & patrick Ochs had free tickets for all of us to boot. Basically a very cheap but entertaining night. To relate to your subject above – it was a cooler night – saw no one with their shirts up only jackets on. ha ha
    Love ya
    p.s. love the pictures
    Sue 🙂

