Cribs Beijing: The Entry Way

Cribs-Beijing-Entry-WayWelcome to our apartment entry way.  The first thing you do when you enter any apartment in China is to take of your street shoes and put on indoor sandals (when it’s hot) or slippers (when it’s cold).  Hosts generally provide these for guests.  The tradition is mostly practical – you don’t want street shoes in your house, and floors are often cold and sometimes dirty.

Anyway, I knew you were coming, so I have a pair of sandals just for you.  I’ll wait while you change into them.  And yes, Adidas did work out the product placement with me. 

I got these for you to wear as I show you around our apartment.

I got these for you to wear as I show you around our apartment.

Ready?  Great.  The stop in the entry way is just a short one.  The whole point is to give you an idea of the apartment layout.  The picture below should do a good job of that.

Before we start the tour, just get a quick sense of the apartment layout as seen from the entry way.

Before we start the tour, just get a quick sense of the apartment layout as seen from the entry way.

