Announcing Categories

I discovered recently that WordPress comes with a nifty feature for organizing blog posts called “Categories.”  This feature becomes increasingly helpful the longer you blog because readers can more easily sort and view the post topics that interest them.  As I am now over 30 posts (wow!), I decided to create and use categories for “Zai China.”  Hopefully you will find it helpful!

Here is the overview of my organization scheme.  At the first level, I have organized the blog around time periods. 

  1. Preparing for China – Blog posts that relate to my pre-flight preparation.
  2. En Route – Blog posts that relate to my actual journey to China
  3. Zai China – Blog posts that relate to life in China.
  4. About My Blog – Blog posts about my blog, which transcend time periods.

Within some of these broader categories, I have a second level of sub-categories.  For example, under “Preparing for China,” I have sub-categories for “Breakthrough,” “In The Market” (things I’m looking to buy or rent), and “On The Market” (things I am looking to sell or rent out). 

The “Zai China” category is going to be the biggest by far, so I have given it the most sub-categories. 

  1. Apartment Living – Posts relating to our apartment and life inside it. 
  2. Chinese Man – Posts relating to Tian’s goal of turning me (at least in part) into a real Chinese man.
  3. Food – Posts relating to food.
  4. Health – Posts relating to health.
  5. Street View – Posts relating to interesting things I encounter on the streets of China.
  6. Technology – Posts relating to technology.
  7. Tourist – Posts relating to Tian and my experiences as tourists in China.
  8. Work Life – Posts relating to our work lives.
  9. Zen Me Shuo (How to Say) – Posts relating to learning Chinese.

* If you don’t see all of these subcategories yet, that’s because they only appear once the first post has been assigned to the category.  I anticipate that all categories will have at least one posting in the next couple of weeks. 

Category links appear on the right side of this blog, indented to show my organization scheme.  Use these links to more easily navigate my posts.

Category links appear on the right side of this blog, indented to show my organization scheme. Use these links to more easily navigate my posts.

Categories are great because they are very flexible.  As you might expect, posts often do not relate just to one topic.  The good news is that I am able to assign a post to many different categories.  Also exciting is the fact that any posting that appears in a sub-category also automatically is associated with its parent category.  Finally, I can add new categories or edit existing category titles as needed as I go. 

Ok.  So you think you’ve mastered the category concept now?  Then answer this questions:  In which categories might you expect this post to appear?  If you answered “About My Blog”, “Zai China”, and/or “Technology” you would be right!

One comment

  1. That is so very Jeff-like of you 🙂

