Friendly Faces

 

Can you spot me?  Tian did.

Can you spot me? Tian did.

After stopping to exchange some currency, Chris and I walked out of the baggage claim area to look for Tian and Chris’s friend Jason, who was picking him up at the airport.  Tian saw me before I saw her, waved vigorously, and wasted no time snapping pictures.  As we got closer, we saw that Tian and Jason, without knowing it, were standing side-by-side despite the fact that they had never met.  Another one of those “too good to be true” moments.

The two travelers.  Happy and fighting their fatigue.

The two travelers. Happy and fighting their fatigue.

A moment that was one year in the making.

A moment that was one year in the making.

Tired and eager to get home, we talked together only briefly, exchanged contact information, and then said “see you later.”  Jason and Chris took Jason’s car into the city.  Tian and I, not wanting to mess with public transportation after being three hours late, took a taxi.  About 30 minutes later, Tian showed me into the apartment for the first time, and I collapsed exhausted.

But it was also official.  I was now “Zai China!”

2 comments

  1. Sarah Gough · ·

    Glad you made it through the health checkpoint okay. I was hoping all the nurses would treat you well!

  2. What can I say…gosh darn it, nurses like me. Though I’m not sure about those outstate MN nurses. 🙂

