My Last Week at BSP

My last week at Breakthrough Saint Paul was a truly fitting end to my six years there.  It was marked by a challenging assignment, long hours, and dedicated teamwork. 

The main reason for the craziness of the last week was that I needed to finish a special math tutoring curriculum that the SPPS Foundation had requested by mid-August.  The writing had all been done by math teachers who we paid for the work, but we still needed to format two entire units.  This meant hours and hours of tedious work in Microsoft Word.  With summer as packed as it was and because of some delays in the project, it all caught up to me in my last week.

This lesson guide is just one of the many pieces of math curriculum I formatted in Microsoft Word during my last week on the job at BSP.

This lesson guide is just one of the many pieces of math curriculum I formatted in Microsoft Word during my last week on the job at BSP.

By Wednesday, I realized that I wasn’t going to finish everything by myself, and so Ashley and Chris graciously volunteered to help me.  But even with their help during the day, it took me working from sunrise to the late hours of the night to finish.  The good news is that by 8:30 p.m. on Friday evening, it was all done.  I could leave with this final project completed successfully.

Just as I had been many times before, I was the last one out of the building that day.  As I locked the door and set the alarm, I realized how appropriate of ending to my Breakthrough career it was.  When I got to my car, I paused, took a long look back at the school, and just enjoyed the moment.

