A Trunk Full of Memories

On Monday I sold my car.  It wasn’t without heartache.  She was my first!  I still remember the feeling as I test drove her on 35W, negotiated with the salesman on price, and of course, her new car smell.  It was August 2004, and I was embarking on my new adventure as the Founding Director of Breakthrough Saint Paul, and I needed a reliable partner that would get me from A to B in style.  She answered the call and more.

We had a lot of exciting memories:

– Road trip to Michigan for Mark’s wedding
– Tian passing her road test!
– Ski trips to Afton, Highland, and Grand Marais
– Hydroplaning (planned)
– Helping me through dates!
– Annual student and teacher recruitment presentation tours
– Weekly summer Sams Club runs

Some painful memories too:

– Three flat tires in four months in 2008.
– Tian flunking her road test the first time. 
– Getting scratched in the local car wash.
– Getting soaked with sap each night beneath the boulevard tree
– Pulled over by cop for speeding on Frost Ave. (but no ticket!)
– The indignity of parking tickets

For five years, we avoided accidents and moving violations, and we got by without significant mechanical failures.  She was a great car, and I will miss her.   But I am comforted by the fact that I was able to blow her a kiss goodbye and also by the fact that she is with great new owners.  They can provide her with the love she needs during the next chapter of her life’s story.

My car never cared what weirdos were in the back seat.

My car never cared what weirdos were in the back seat.

My car's seen the good and bad sides of me and my friends.

My car's seen the good and bad sides of me and my friends.

