Toasted and Roasted

Last night was a truly unforgettable evening.  The BSP advisory board threw me a special tribute called “The Ochs Toast and Roast.”  Dick and Nancy Nicholson hosted the party in their wonderful home on Summit Avenue.  With all the drinks, food, and beautiful decor, it was truly the perfect set-up. 

Pat H.K. worked her design magic yet again on the invitation to the "Ochs Toast & Roast".  It was an evening I will never forget.

Pat H.K. worked her design magic yet again on the invitation to the "Ochs Toast & Roast". It was an evening I will never forget.

Throughout the evening, over 60 friends and family came to toast and roast my work as the Founding Director of Breakthrough Saint Paul.  Many others couldn’t make it but sent in their material to those at hand.  We shared a lot of tears as nearly a dozen people spoke.  Then the current faculty of BSP did a special song and dance for me to “One Step at a Time”!  I ended the evening sharing my appreciation, offering a few reflections, and singing (a surprise to me!) “Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson.

Special thanks to Anne Petersen, Pat Hayes Kaufman, Pondie Nicholson, Chris Buckley, and Jennifer Otremba for all their hard work on the evening.  It was the perfect way to celebrate all of successes we’ve had at BSP over the past six years and to say a formal goodbye.

