Visa Application

Great news. Yesterday I got all the documents I needed to apply for a visa. I had been waiting on an invitation letter (visa notification) and a foreign experts license (work permit) from Tsinghua University – the last things I needed to get for my application. Here’s the full list:

  1. Passport
  2. Application Form
  3. Declaration Form
  4. Passport Photos (Walgreens loves me as a customer!)
  5. Visa Notification
  6. Foreign Experts License

I went through http://www.visaexpress.net, which also requires an order form and about $225 to do a rush service. If things go well, I should receive the visa early next week.

Nearly two months have passed since I signed my contract. I don’t think it usually takes this long. I think my situation was a little unconventional. I have heard that it took them a bit longer to get me the foreign experts license because I don’t have a master’s degree. But in the end, my experience proved enough.

