A Moving Experience…

Tian’s roommate, Xiao Long, and I take a break while helping Tian move out of her apartment.

Tian’s roommate, Xiao Long, and I take a break while helping Tian move out of her apartment.

This weekend, I’ve been “helping” Tian move out of her apartment (Tian de Jia). In reality, the range of tasks that I am allowed to assist with are minimal. We’ve decided that I’m not at all helpful with her clothes and with her mementos. But I am able to help with the kitchen items and furniture.

While it might surprise you, there’s nothing quite like packing up dishes and throwing out old bank statements to make you sentimental. Her apartment was a great place with a lot of memories (which this picture of me and Xiao Long – her roommate – demonstrates), and packing up was the first real sign to me that her departure is imminent. But even though the episode brought a case of benign nostalgia, it also made me realize that the next chapter is almost beginning.
